I am a dreamer … Cardcaptor Sakura

A.k.a the best magical girl shoujo manga anime ever. Twenty years later, they give us a new season. Twenty. Years. Let that sink in. About 15 years ago I remember waiting for Sunday to roll by. For toonami to show us an edited, dubbed and otherwise Americanized version of Sakura and her friends trying to capture clow cards. I remember never missing it. I remember catching repeat episodes Saturday nights at two. The only thing I ever stayed up for. Even during my school finals which I took more seriously than I take my job right now. No, cardcaptors were my single source of happiness back then. And I remember crying when I found out they cancelled cartoon Network right when season 2 was about to start. Aaah good old days. Just school and anime. And day dreaming. And friends. Magical indeed.

My disney princess is a bit different than your Disney princess 😊 to start, my princess goes to school on skates! Has magic powers and super athletic abilities which she uses to capture magical beasts!

All those feelings come back. A lot has changed. But thankfully not Sakura. But yes, I remember waiting for any romantic opportunity or moment between the protagonists. Of course there were none. This was edited after all. To remove all storyline between li and yukito … Between Toya and yukito … Between rika and terada…between Sakura and li …anything controversial? Remove. I really wonder how Japan let’s air this? Is it not monitored? They are a more close society. Maybe the actual words are not so direct. It could be read in different ways. Connotations etc

Young Man, Li has a phone now, and all of them, including yue nd kero video chat each other lol. Anime had to keep up with the times. Twenty years is no joke. They are taller, too.

I missed Soo much between Sakura and li. I had to go watch the two movies to make up for it. I watched tsubasa reservoir too. But it wasnt as good. Sakura and li are un matched. Li s tsundere undercurrent, quiet subtle love..is unmatched till date. Li is my favorite male lead in any anime ever. Which is saying something. And in cardcaptor Sakura:clear card.. they are finally dating.

They are grown up and going on dates. Sakura blushing for li, making lunch for li, li hugging her, asking her out…I would have died to catch any of these back in the day. I had to wait 15 years for this haha.

So I decided to rewatch the original. Truth be told they had better storyline. Less loopholes. I want to see all the way from when li started liking Sakura. All his little blushes. All the developments between. Toya yukito, mizuki, eriol, Ruby, meilin, Sakura….and syaoran. Uptil now, toua has been an overprotective brother for Sakura, has met his ex mizuki again in an agonizing meeting, is very good friends with yukito, meilin is overbearing to li, hates Sakura … And Sakura really likes yukito. Lastly, syaoran and Sakura are rivals competing lol ..someone watching the first season would have No idea where this is headed.

We see li being caring and responsible to meiling…clamp is setting him up for us to see his other side in a relationship…his cool side… the side we will love…During the return card, Sakura hugged him out of gratitude and relief…and we saw the cool collected syaoran blush for the first time….

I am going to enjoy this πŸ™‚ I wish they make another season, this time Sakura gang in high school….and another one…her in college…I don’t mind watching her whole life…even if it is twenty years later!

Any Thoughts on this?